About us

Dr. Elizabeth Dubois at the University of Ottawa and Dr. Taylor Owen at McGill University launched the Digital Ecosystem Research Challenge in April 2019, in order to examine the impacts of digital media on Canadian elections. Through the Challenge, 18 winning projects collaborated to analyze a large-scale dataset collected from social media, online news, web, and survey data. In creating this collaboration, the goal was to map the digital ecosystem in order to support increased civic and digital literacy.

dr dubois.jpg

Dr. Elizabeth Dubois 

  • Twitter Social Icon

Elizabeth Dubois (PhD, University of Oxford) is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Communication and member of the Centre for Law, Technology and Society at the University of Ottawa. She is also a Board Member for CIVIX, a Fellow at the Public Policy Forum of Canada, and former member of Assembly based at Harvard’s Berkman-Klein Center.


Her work examines political uses of digital media including media manipulation, citizen engagement, and artificial intelligence. She leads a multi-disciplinary team which includes political scientists, computer scientists, and communication students.


Her work can be found at www.elizabethdubois.ca and on Twitter: @lizdubois.

Dr. Taylor Owen 

  • Twitter Social Icon

Taylor Owen is the Beaverbrook Chair in Media, Ethics and Communications and Associate Professor in the Max Bell School of Public Policy at McGill University. He was previously Assistant Professor of Digital Media and Global Affairs at the University of British Columbia, and the Research Director of the Tow Center for Digital Journalism at Columbia University. He is a Senior Fellow at the Center for International Governance Innovation (CIGI), a Fellow at the Public Policy Forum and sits on the Governing Council of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC).


His work can be found at www.taylorowen.com and on Twitter: @taylor_owen.

The team

Research Coordinator: Guillermo Renna 

Research assistants and research fellows: Ève Grébert, Catherine Ouellet, Dan Malone, Pascal Dangoisse, Charlee Heath, Aengus Bridgman, Oleg Zhilin, Maya Fernandez.



This project has been made possible in part by the Government of Canada (http://www.canada.ca) through a History Fund Grant.


Adjudication committee:

Dr. Mike Ananny, Associate Professor, Annenberg School for Communication & Journalism, University of Southern California

Camille François, Chief Innovation Officer, Graphika

Dr. Florian Martin-Bariteau, Assistant Professor and Director of the Centre for Law, Technology, and Society, University of Ottawa

Dr. Taylor Owen, Associate Professor, Max Bell School of Public Policy, McGill University

Dr. Elizabeth Dubois, Assistant Professor, Department of Communication, University of Ottawa